Linfoot Number Theory Seminars


  • Christopher Doris
    Computing the Galois group of a p-adic polynomial
    Wednesday 27th March 2019, 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
    Howard House, 2nd Floor Seminar Room

Past Seminars:

  • Alessandro Arlandini
    Factorization of the p-adic Rankin-Selberg L-function in the supersingular case
    Wednesday 20th March 2019

  • Demi Allen
    A general mass transference principle
    Wednesday 13th March 2019

  • Pip Goodman
    Restrictions on endomorphism rings of hyperelliptic jacobians
    Wednesday 6th March 2019

  • E. Mehmet Kıral
    Reciprocity in Moments of L-functions.
    Wednesday 27th February 2019

  • Julian Lawrence Demeio
    Varieties with the Hilbert property
    Wednesday 20th February 2019

  • Akshat Mudgal
    Sums of Linear Transformations in higher dimensions
    Wednesday 13th February 2019

  • Michael Mertens
    Finite groups and arithmetic
    Wednesday 6th February 2019

  • Xavier Gonzalez
    Moonshine for all finite groups
    Wednesday 30th January 2019

  • Chris Lutsko
    Equidistribution of generalized Farey sequences
    Wednesday 19th December 2018

  • Anne-Maria Ernvall-Hytönen
    On the transcendence measure of e (joint work with Tapani Matala-aho and Louna Seppälä)
    Wednesday 12th December 2018

  • Sam Porritt
    Chebyshev-type biases in function fields
    Wednesday 5th December 2018

  • Nick Rome
    The Loughran-Smeets Conjectures and Conic Bundles
    Wednesday 28th November 2018

  • Scott Kirila
    Discrete moments of Dirichlet L-functions
    Wednesday 21st November 2018

  • Sam Chow
    Bohr sets and multiplicative diophantine approximation
    Wednesday 14th November 2018

  • Linda Frey
    Elliptic curves, small heights and an outlook to genus two
    Wednesday 7th November 2018

  • Nirvana Coppola
    Galois action on elliptic curves
    Wednesday 31st October 2018

  • Toshiki Matsusaka
    CM values, cycle integrals, and polyharmonic Maass forms
    Wednesday 24th October 2018

  • David Platt
    The error term in the Prime Number Theorem
    Wednesday 17th October 2018

  • Dan Fretwell
    Paramodular Eisenstein congruences of local origin
    Wednesday 10th October 2018

  • Daniel El-Baz
    Effective equidistribution of rational points on certain expanding horospheres
    Wednesday 3rd October 2018

  • Joerg Bruedern
    Tuesday 19th June 2018

  • Régis de la Bretèche
    G\’al’s sums and applications
    Wednesday 13th June 2018

  • Francesca Bianchi
    Computation of p-adic heights in families of elliptic curves
    Wednesday 30th May 2018

  • Marius Leonhardt
    The main theorem(s) of complex multiplication and beyond
    Wednesday 23rd May 2018

  • Kirsti Biggs
    Efficient congruencing in ellipsephic sets
    Wednesday 16th May 2018

  • Adelina Manzateanu
    Invariants of hyperelliptic genus 3 curves
    Wednesday 9th May 2018

  • Anna Somoza Henares
    Reconstruction of cyclic plane quintic curves
    Wednesday 2nd May 2018

  • Rachel Newton
    Arithmetic of rational points and zero-cycles on Kummer varieties
    Wednesday 25th April 2018

  • Andrew Knightly
    Relative trace formulas on GL(2)
    Wednesday 18th April 2018

  • George Turcas
    On Fermat's equation over quadratic imaginary number fields
    Wednesday 21st March 2018

  • Jos Gunns
    The Selberg L-functions under repeated differentiation.
    Wednesday 14th March 2018

  • Alisa Sedunova
    Bounds for the integral points on elliptic curves over function fields
    Wednesday 7th March 2018

  • Stanley Yao Xiao
    D_4-quartic fields with monogenic cubic resolvent
    Wednesday 28th February 2018

  • Matthew Bisatt
    Root numbers of abelian varieties
    Wednesday 21st February 2018

  • Brendan Murphy
    Navigating Cayley Graphs
    Wednesday 14th February 2018

  • David Lowry-Duda
    Recent progress on the generalized Gauss Circle Problem, and related topics
    Wednesday 7th February 2018

  • Lucia Mocz
    A New Northcott Property for Faltings Height
    Wednesday 31st January 2018

  • Matt Palmer
    Progress towards the Duffin-Schaeffer conjecture in number fields
    Wednesday 24th January 2018

  • Ian Petrow
    Bounds for traces of Hecke operators and points on curves over finite fields
    Wednesday 13th December 2017

  • Will Sawin
    Equidistribution of L-functions over function fields
    Wednesday 6th December 2017

  • Alexander Betts
    Iterated integrals, Green's functions, and fundamental groups
    Wednesday 29th November 2017

  • Victoria Farfan Cantora
    Torsion for abelian varieties of type III and new cases of the Mumford-Tate conjecture
    Wednesday 22nd November 2017

  • Thomas Ducat
    The decomposition groups of plane conic and rational cubic curves
    Wednesday 15th November 2017

  • Pedro Lemos
    Serre's uniformity conjecture for elliptic curves with a rational cyclic isogeny
    Wednesday 8th November 2017

  • Pierre Bienvenu
    Quadratic uniformity of the Moebius function in function fields
    Wednesday 1st November 2017

  • Vinay Viswanathan
    Counting points on quadrics with arithmetic weights
    Wednesday 25th October 2017

  • Simon Myerson
    Forms in many variables: an iterative approach
    Wednesday 18th October 2017

  • Chris Birkbeck
    Slopes of modular forms
    Wednesday 11th October 2017

  • Gene Kopp
    Indefinite Theta Functions and Zeta Functions
    Wednesday 4th October 2017

  • Davide Lombardo
    Reductions of points of infinite order on algebraic groups
    Wednesday 27th September 2017

  • David Spencer
    Local origin congruences of modular forms
    Wednesday 31st May 2017

css.php