Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems Seminars


  • Ana Rodrigues
    Recent advances on fair measures and fair entropy
    Thursday 23rd May 2019, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
    Howard House, 4th Floor Seminar Room

  • Ian Morris
    A dimension gap between self-affine measures and self-affine sets.
    Tuesday 28th May 2019, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
    Main Maths Building, SM2

  • Neil Dobbs
    Knobbly but nice
    Thursday 30th May 2019, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
    Howard House, 4th Floor Seminar Room

  • Ariel Rapaport
    Thursday 6th June 2019, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
    Howard House, 4th Floor Seminar Room

  • Douglas Coates
    Thursday 13th June 2019, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
    Howard House, 4th Floor Seminar Room

Past Seminars:

  • Kevin Hughes
    Towards quantitative equidistribution theorems in harmonic analysis
    Thursday 16th May 2019

  • Detta Dickinson
    *CANCELLED* The distribution of algebraic conjugate points in small boxes
    Thursday 16th May 2019

  • Ofer Shwartz
    Cancelled
    Thursday 9th May 2019

  • Catherine Bruce
    Projections of Gibbs measures on self-conformal sets
    Thursday 2nd May 2019

  • Xin Zhang
    Fine scale statistics of fractal sets
    Thursday 4th April 2019

  • Çağrı Sert
    The joint spectrum
    Thursday 21st March 2019

  • Balázs Bárány
    Hausdorff dimension of self-similar measures with complicated overlaps
    Thursday 21st March 2019

  • Ian Morris
    *Cancelled* A dimension gap between self-affine measures and self-affine sets.
    Thursday 14th March 2019

  • Italo Cipriano
    Time change for flows
    Thursday 28th February 2019

  • Yuri Lima
    Markov partitions for billiards
    Thursday 21st February 2019

  • Pedro Peres
    Existence of non-trivial embeddings of Interval Exchange Transformations into Piecewise Isometries
    Thursday 7th February 2019

  • Demi Allen
    Approximation on the Cantor set and some of its inhomogeneous friends
    Thursday 31st January 2019

  • Federica Fanoni
    Curve graphs for infinite-type surfaces
    Thursday 20th December 2018

  • George Kenison
    Skolem's problem and prime powers
    Thursday 13th December 2018

  • Stephen Cantrell
    Comparing word length with displacement for actions on CAT(-1) spaces
    Thursday 6th December 2018

  • Leticia Pardo Simon
    Escaping dynamics of a class of transcendental functions
    Thursday 29th November 2018

  • Yotam Smilansky
    Multiscale substitution schemes and Kakutani sequences of partitions
    Thursday 22nd November 2018

  • Richard Sharp
    Representations of surface groups, zeta functions and counting
    Thursday 15th November 2018

  • Felipe Perez
    Dimension of measures with infinite entropy
    Thursday 25th October 2018

  • Chris Lutsko
    Directions in Orbits of Discrete Hyperbolic Subgroups
    Thursday 18th October 2018

  • Pablo Shmerkin
    Some new results and some open questions about the middle-thirds Cantor set
    Thursday 11th October 2018

  • Rhiannon Dougall
    Critical exponents for normal subgroups via a twisted Bowen-Margulis current
    Thursday 4th October 2018

  • Danijela Damjanovic
    Global rigidity for Anosov actions
    Thursday 7th June 2018

  • Michael Magee
    Thermodynamical approach to the Markoff-Hurwitz equation
    Thursday 24th May 2018

  • Yiannis Konstantoulas
    Symplectic geometry of numbers
    Thursday 17th May 2018

  • David Simmons
    Title: Dimension gaps in self-affine sponges
    Thursday 10th May 2018

  • Gabriele Mondello
    On some properties of spherical surfaces with conical singularities and their moduli spaces
    Thursday 3rd May 2018

  • Kathryn Spalding
    Growth of values of binary quadratic forms and Conway rivers
    Thursday 26th April 2018

  • Livio Flaminio
    Nil-sequences, multiplicative functions and asymptotic orthogonal powers
    Thursday 19th April 2018

  • Gabriel Paternain
    Carleman estimates for geodesic X-ray transforms.
    Thursday 22nd March 2018

  • Alex Gorodnik
    Discrepancy in Geometry of Numbers and Dynamics
    Thursday 15th March 2018

  • Irene Pasquinelli
    Deligne-Mostow lattices and cone metrics on the sphere
    Thursday 8th March 2018

  • Ofir David
    Equidistribution of divergent orbits in the space of lattices
    Thursday 1st March 2018

  • Christopher Leininger
    Dynamics of splittings of free-by-cyclic groups
    Thursday 22nd February 2018

  • Henna Koivusalo
    Cut and project sets, linear repetition of patterns, and the Littlewood conjecture
    Thursday 15th February 2018

  • Giovanni Forni
    On Mixing rates for time-changes of Heisenberg Nilflows
    Monday 8th January 2018

  • Oliver Sargent
    Random walks on homogeneous spaces of non-lattice type
    Thursday 14th December 2017

  • Mariusz Lemanczyk
    Moebius orthogonality in dynamics
    Thursday 30th November 2017

  • Vladimir Finkelshtein
    Diophantine approximation problems for groups of toral automorphisms.
    Thursday 23rd November 2017

  • Michael Bromberg
    Temporal distributional limit theorem for cocycles over rotations
    Thursday 16th November 2017

  • George Kenison
    Statistics in conjugacy classes in free groups
    Thursday 9th November 2017

  • Natalia Jurga
    Dimension of Bernoulli measures for non-linear countable Markov maps
    Thursday 2nd November 2017

  • Mike Todd
    Phase transitions and limit laws
    Thursday 26th October 2017

  • Kevin Hughes
    Towards an ergodic Hasse principle
    Thursday 19th October 2017

  • Kieran Jarrett
    Non-singular ergodic theorems for countable group actions
    Thursday 12th October 2017

  • Dalia Terhesiu
    Some new statistical properties of piecewise linear Fibonacci maps
    Thursday 5th October 2017

  • Chris Lutsko
    Thursday 30th March 2017

css.php