Algebra Seminars

Organiser: Scott Harper

  • Petar Pavešić
    Wednesday 15th December 2021, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm
    Fry Building, Room G.11 and Zoom

  • Gareth Tracey
    Wednesday 2nd February 2022, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm
    Fry Building, Room 2.04

  • Radha Kessar
    Wednesday 23rd February 2022, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm
    Fry Building, Room 2.04

Past Seminars:

  • Harry Petyt
    Groups via geometry
    Wednesday 1st December 2021

  • Mark Wildon
    From representations of general linear groups to plethysms of symmetric functions (and back)
    Wednesday 17th November 2021

  • Veronica Kelsey
    Maximal irredundant base size and relational complexity
    Wednesday 10th November 2021

  • Sibylle Schroll
    New algebra and module varieties
    Wednesday 3rd November 2021

  • Arman Darbinyan
    Subgroups of left-orderable groups
    Wednesday 27th October 2021

  • John MacQuarrie
    Extensions of algebras preserving some homological properties
    Wednesday 20th October 2021

  • Olga Varghese
    Automatic continuity for Artin groups
    Wednesday 13th October 2021

  • Aner Shalev
    Random Generation: from Groups to Algebras
    Wednesday 6th October 2021

  • Gunter Malle
    Around Brauer's height zero conjecture
    Wednesday 9th June 2021

  • Pip Goodman
    Restrictions on Endomorphism Algebras
    Wednesday 2nd June 2021

  • Anitha Thillaisundaram
    Maximal subgroups of groups acting on rooted trees
    Wednesday 26th May 2021

  • Eugenio Gianelli
    On a conjecture of Malle and Navarro
    Wednesday 19th May 2021

  • Ollie Clarke
    Combinatorial Mutations and Block Diagonal Polytopes
    Wednesday 12th May 2021

  • Derek Holt
    Enumerating transitive groups and bounding generator numbers
    Wednesday 5th May 2021

  • Eilidh McKemmie
    The probability of generating invariably a finite simple group
    Wednesday 28th April 2021

  • Pablo Spiga
    How vertex stabilizers grow?
    Wednesday 21st April 2021

  • Sam Corson
    Infinite groups which behave like finite groups
    Wednesday 24th March 2021

  • Zoltán Halasi
    Babai's conjecture for classical groups with generating sets containing a transvection
    Wednesday 17th March 2021

  • Alice Niemeyer
    Recognising Classical Groups
    Wednesday 10th March 2021

  • Charley Cummings
    Generation of the derived module category
    Wednesday 3rd March 2021

  • Alexander Hulpke
    Universal Covers of Finite Groups
    Wednesday 24th February 2021

  • Pham Tiep
    Word maps on finite simple groups
    Wednesday 17th February 2021

  • Sean Eberhard
    Diameter of high-rank classical groups with random generators
    Wednesday 10th February 2021

  • Lidia Angeleri Hügel
    Parametrizing t-structures over hereditary rings
    Wednesday 3rd February 2021

  • Matthew Tointon
    Sharp relations between growth and isoperimetry in vertex-transitive graphs, and applications in probability
    Wednesday 16th December 2020

  • Rachel Skipper
    Maximal Subgroups of Thompson's Group V
    Wednesday 9th December 2020

  • Rosanna Laking
    Mutation of large cosilting complexes
    Wednesday 2nd December 2020

  • Henry Bradford
    Quantifying lawlessness in finitely generated groups
    Wednesday 25th November 2020

  • Marianne Johnson
    Tropical Representations and Identities of Plactic Monoids
    Wednesday 18th November 2020

  • Jenny August
    Grassmannian Categories of Infinite Rank
    Wednesday 4th November 2020

  • Mima Stanojkovski
    On the modular isomorphism problem for groups of class 3
    Wednesday 28th October 2020

  • Andrea Caranti
    Regular subgroups of the holomorph, and their connections to the Yang Baxter equation, Hopf Galois structures, radical rings, and (skew) braces
    Wednesday 21st October 2020

  • Britta Späth
    Towards the McKay Conjecture
    Wednesday 14th October 2020

  • Peter Cameron
    The geometry of diagonal groups
    Wednesday 7th October 2020

css.php